RSS Feed

December Recipe Roundup

Now that the pancakes are gone and the dishes put away, I’m taking a few minutes this morning to catch up on older posts and photos.

First up, Stuffed Acorn Squash!

 We have lots of greens thriving in our garden this time of year, inspiring us to EAT MORE KALE. We modified a Greek Orzo Stuffed Peppers recipe found in Eating Well magazine, subbing acorn squash for peppers, eliminating the feta cheese, and using kale instead of spinach. We also skipped the chickpeas. The result was both delicious and gorgeous!

Orzo Stuffed Acorn Squash

Next up: Lemon Lavender Pancakes

This summer, the bakery I work with played with all kinds of bright citrusy flavors. By far, this was my favorite! For a pancake version, I pulled out my go-to pancake recipe:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup soy milk (lately I’ve been using almond)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil

To the dry ingredients, I added the minced lavender buds. For the wet, before pouring the almond milk into my measuring glass, I pour a splash of lemon juice, roughly 1 T, then fill up to the 1C mark with milk.  For a more lemony flavor, add more juice in the same way. You don’t want to add more total liquid, as you’ll thin your batter too much.

For a deliciously decadent glaze, with a fork mix almond milk, lemon juice and powdered sugar together until you reach your desired consistency.

Lemon Lavender Pancakes

Along with these lovely pancakes, I made tofu scramble!

Though my recipe is rarely the same (probably because I don’t use one!) it’s almost always delicious.

Our tofu scramble contents depend heavily on what veggies we have on hand/are thriving in our garden at the time. Today, I minced purple, red and green bell pepper and some yellow onion.

Clockwise from top- cubed extra firm tofu, diced onion, purple bell pepper, red bell pepper, green bell pepper

Cube 1/2 block of drained extra firm tofu, then saute it all over medium heat in a cast iron skillet (better browning and texture) with a little oil, then toss in some nutritional yeast, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, thyme salt and pepper. If I have time, I usually prep all the ingredients in advance (minus nutritional yeast) then let it marinade for an hour or more. The flavor is much, much better when I do!

The plated breakfast:

Tofu Scramble and Lemon Lavender Pancakes

Last, but by far not least, we have pumpkin whoopie pies! I used a recipe from Vegan Yum Yum. The cookie was a bit dry, and I couldn’t get my cream cheese filling to properly set up, but they tasted amazing!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

About georgeousaustin

I'm a 20-something vegetarian happily married to a vegan. We house has become the home for misfit animals- our furkids include a one eyed, tailless kitty named Kimber and Bart, our roughly 15 yr old lab who suffers from a spinal injury, arthritis and is allergic to everything! We have a soft spot for those special animals who others may see destined for death. I love Austin, though I love Texas more. Born here, but raised elsewhere, I returned as quickly as my tires could carry me. There are so many wonderful things this city has to offer, and I love exploring all those I can!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

